Posted in Books

Why we should all obsess over Novels. 

Ever since I can remember I have always loved reading. When I was in secondary school, before the start of school in September, I would have finished reading all the stories in my intensive English textbook.

I have always thought of novels as a totally different world that you get to immerse yourself in and just fly away. It is like TV in your head.

I am always looking for new books and although I prefer murder mysteries or whodunits, I can’t say no to a good novel. I don’t like plays, because I feel they don’t flow like novel, that’s why I have never read Soyinka.

I have read Achebe, Ekwensi, Nwapa, Adichie, Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle, J. K. Rowling, Stephen King and Edgar Allan Poe to mention a few.

You probably wonder why you should read novels, well for one they help expand your knowledge of some subjects,writers do extensive research so that their books can be realistic to the best of their ability.

For example reading a book about let’s say a young lawyer will familiarize you with legal terms and such. You make think it is useless but it can help you sound intelligent and sophisticated in conversations 😎.

They can also improve your vocabulary effortlessly, they show you where and how to use words and you can have a dictionary handy to check the meaning of strange words.

I hardly read non-fiction because when something sad happens in a fictional novel I agonize for weeks not to talk of something I know happened for real,  my heart cannot take it oooo 😥.

To me books are life itself and reading should be seriously encouraged.There is no end to what you can learn from books and there are few joys greater than reading a book and feeling it wrap itself around you like an old friend🙏.

One thought on “Why we should all obsess over Novels. 

If you have something to add or say, leave a comment