Posted in DIY, Haircare

Sooooooo, the thing is I love reading DIYs and I especially love telling myself that I will do one of them. Anyway, this week I decided to start a new hair regimen (more on that another time), and naturally,  I needed oils and they don’t come cheap.

Castor oil has burnt a hole through my very shallow pockets  πŸ˜’ but thank God for being a Christian because olive oil is never scarce over here 😁. 

Aryan oil is super expensive and difficult to find, so I settle for coconut oil because let’s be honest it’s the happening oil now.

Then I said ok let me buy some but I told myself, I said self; this coconut oil thing is makeable, so just try and do it besides you only need coconuts, so myself said ok so here it is.

I guarantee that all the information presented here is 110% real and so are the injuries (I am not a very careful person πŸ˜– ).

Step 1:Buy coconuts(Obviously)

Since this was my first time I decided to use only 3 coconuts and not overwhelm myself.Use ripe coconuts only.

dsc00456-01.jpeg

Step 2:Break the shell of said coconuts.

This should be done outside as the shell is hard and small pieces can cause injuries if you step on them. I recommend using a small cutlass to bash the coconut open (or you can slam it on a concrete floor, whatever works for you, I don’t judge).

Step 3:Remove the flesh of the coconut.

This is the difficult part, I recommend using a blunt knife, start from the edges and gently push the flesh of the coconut away from the shell. Please be extremely careful, this was the site of my first injury.

Step 4:Wash the coconut flesh.

If you took my advice and broke the shell outside you probably have some dirt on the flesh of your coconut, not to worry just rinse it up and it’s as good as new.

wp-1480025110197.jpg

Step 5:Grate/Chop the coconut flesh into bits.

Okay, now if removing the coconut flesh was difficult, this part was exhausting. First of all some people use knives to chop their coconuts in bits but I found that when I did that it came out uneven and I looked like it would take forever, plus I was really worried that the large and hard coconuts will destroy my blender.

dsc00464-01.jpeg

When I used the grater on the other hand everything was smoother and it took waaaaaay less time,but my arm still hurt after a while sha and I was sweaty πŸ™‡. WARNING : Be careful with the grater this was the site of my last 3 injuries.

So, I think I will stop here for now. Tomorrow, I shall continue my epic tale because my hand hurts from all the injuries and typing. πŸ‘‹

If you have something to add or say, leave a comment

