Posted in Life, Religion

That time I was sure I was going to die.

Something strange happened to me on Sunday.I fell asleep reading this book:Everyday by David Leviathan, it’s about this person that wakes up each morning in a new body.

I had this strange dream that I was in this dystopian place where I had to fight monsters and I survived a near death experience in this same dream. 

I woke and with this surety that I was going to die that night. That I was not going to see the next morning, well you can imagine the first thing I did was break down and cry. 

Then I told myself I was being ridiculous and I should shake it off. I couldn’t shake it off, I even told one of my friends that called me that I might not be here tomorrow (dramatic?).

I got really scared and then I started thinking about what this would mean for me, I would be sad to die not because it’s myself but also because of the people I would leave behind. 

My siblings would be devastated, plus I also wanted to try this hair product I just got. I thought of the money my parents wasted on me to send me to school and how it could have been used better 😒.

Then I thought of telling my siblings what I was feeling bit I decided not to scare them instead I stayed with them watched small TV and joked for hours before I retired to bed. 

When I got to bed I cried again then I prayed and told God I don’t want to die but his will be done, and  if I die before morning please forgive me my sins and grant me eternal rest in heaven. 

I then thought of all the times I took waking up in the morning for granted, I was feeling sleepy but I was too terrified to sleep,i thought of all the things I had not done, all the people I hadn’t spoken to in a while.

 I prayed some more, felt  a bit calmer then I decided to bite the bullet and close my eyes and here I am alive and well but with a renewed sense of gratitude for each day. 

One thought on “That time I was sure I was going to die.

  1. That would have freaked me out. I would just jeje do night vigil. But yes, it is situations like this that make us aware of how good we have it. I am glad you are still alive.

    Like

If you have something to add or say, leave a comment

